Colorado Wage Claim Act – New 14 Day Window For Employers!
Employers need to be aware of some of the more critical changes to Colorado’s Wage Claim Act (“CWCA”). One of the changes requires employers to act decisively when a wage claim is filed because of the shortened response time.
- Employers must respond to wage claims within 14 days after receipt of a demand or risk additional penalties if the employee’s claim is ultimately successful
- The penalty provision has increased to 125% on the first $7,500 of unpaid wages and 50% on any wages above the initial $7,500
- A “willful violation” determination exposes the employer to an additional 50% increase in the assessment of any penalty
- An award of attorneys fees is no longer mandatory
Advertisement: This information is for general purposes only and is not intended to constitute any specific legal advice of any type.